Teaching vs. Research Universities

New Faculty

source

The shiny names, the big teams, the fancy diploma.  Oh wait, you went where?  Measuring learning is something our society and higher education continue to struggle with.  We want our kids to go to ‘big name university’ so it looks good and some where along the way, we began to equate the ‘big name’ with a ‘big education’ only to sadly find out it merely included a ‘big price tag.’ I don’t have two legs to stand on in this case since my degrees are from those perceived ‘big names.’ I will tell you this: I spent two years at a state school or community college and I have to say, I received the best teaching and more education in those two years than I did during the rest of my BS educational experience.

Why are we scoffing, turning up our noses, and pitying those who want to earn…

Ver la entrada original 755 palabras más

Acerca de marcinchains

Too much curiosity ... Troppa curiositá ... Mucha curiosidad ... Magnus curiositas ...
Esta entrada fue publicada en Sin categoría. Guarda el enlace permanente.

Responder

